About Us

You are here

SEA is the only educational organisation affiliated to the Labour Party. Anyone who does not belong to another political party may join as an individual member. Affiliation to the SEA is open to national organisations, Labour Party CLPs and trade unions. SEA members include MPs, school governors, local Councillors, teachers, students, parents - in fact anyone with an interest in education. Our President is the eminent educationalist Professor Richard Pring.

Aims of the S.E.A.

  • To promote the learning society, and to develop the full potential of each individual by aiming for a non-selective education service , which has equality of opportunity and lifelong availability of adequate provision throughout the UK within which compulsory education is free and suitably resourced
  • To promote an international and multi-cultural perspective to education through a curriculum with a global dimension and liaison with relevant organisations, particularly those in Europe
  • To assist in the development and monitoring of the educational policies of the Labour Party in accordance with these objectives and to enlist the support of the Trade Union and Co-operative movements accordingly
  • To enable all socialists interested in education to assist in formulating a socialist educational programme for the Labour Party
  • To encourage support for a socialist vision of education among teachers and their educational and professional associations
  • To make available to the education service and the general public comment and information on educational issues



Meetings 2013/14

7th  September 2013 – (Stafford): F&GP* at 11.00 and NEC* at 1.00

2nd November 2013 – (London): F&GP at 11.00 and NEC at 1.00

5th November 2013 - (London): Caroline Benn Memorial Lecture from 5.30pm to 7.00pm

11th January 2014– (Birmingham): F&GP at 11.00 and NEC at 1.00

8th March 2014– (Manchester): NEC at 11.00 and all member Policy Forum at 1.00

3rd May 2014– (Cardiff): F&GP at 11.00 and NEC at 1.00

21st June 2014 - (London): AGM at 10.00 and Annual Conference from 11.00 to 5.00

22nd June 2014 - (London): NEC at 10.00

* Finance and General Purposes Committee/ National Executive Committee


The Association has a proud history. Since its inception as the National Association of Labour Teachers in the 1920s, it has grown into a broader church and been re-named the “Socialist Educational Association”. Over the years the SEA has fought and won many battles for a socialist perspective on education within the Labour Party.


The Association has a National Executive Committee which meets 6 times a year at different venues throughout the country - any member of SEA is eligible and welcome to attend NEC meetings. There are also up to three all member policy forums organised each year. The NEC is comprised of nationally elected members: Officers, plus 8 women and 8 men; together with delegates from the branches.

Annual Conference

The Association also has its own Annual conference, usually held in June each year. It is preceded by the AGM. All SEA members are encouraged to attend, either as part of their branch delegation or as individual members. Conference is held at a different venue each year. The S.E.A. Constitution prescribes that "Resolutions passed at Annual or Special Conferences shall be implemented by the National Executive Committee (NEC). Matters requiring decisions between conferences shall be determined by the NEC, wherever possible following consultation with members."

The Caroline Benn Memorial Lectures

Are given annually in honour of the SEA president from 1973 to 2000 and its inspiration for many years. Caroline died on 17th November 2000.

CB memlect 2010

Barry Sheerman MP, delivering the 2010 Caroline Benn Memorial lecture with former MP for Wolverhampton, Ken Purchase on the left and Richard Pring, SEA President on the right.

The lectures are accessible in the archive below:

S.E.A. Officers 2013 - 2014

PRESIDENT Professor Richard Pring

VICE PRESIDENTS Melissa Benn, Michaela Oddy, Joanna Tait, Kelvin Hopkins MP, Margaret Morris, Julie Hilling MP.

GENERAL SECRETARY Martin Doré, 6 Preston Avenue, Highams Park, London E4 9NL tel: 0208 5319836, email: socialisteducation@virginmedia.com

ORGANISING SECRETARY Richard Sidley, Splashy Mill, Mill Lane, Lower Moddershall, Staffs ST15 8TF. tel 07921 857436 email: richardksidley@nasuwt.net

CHAIR Sheila Doré, 6 Preston Avenue, Highams Park, London E4 9NL tel: 0208 531 9836, email: sheila.dore@ntlworld.com

VICE-CHAIR Eddie Playfair, 1 Chadwick Road, London E11 1NE. tel 0208 536 4108 email: eplayfair@newvic.ac.uk

TREASURER Mike Newman, 17 Gileston Road, Pontcanna, Cardiff CF11 9JS. tel 02920 382369 email: newmanmike2@aol.com

MEMBERSHIP SECRETARY Nasrullah Khan Moghal, 20 Corringham Road, Manchester M19 2RG. tel 07818 453546 email: nkmoghal@hotmail.co.uk

RECRUITMENT SECRETARY Christine Newman, 17 Gileston Road, Pontcanna, Cardiff CF11 9JS tel: 02920 382369 email: newmanmike2@aol.com

PUBLICATIONS EDITOR Trevor Fisher, email: trevor.fisher2@googlemail.com